The castle

The Château Lafitte : a long history

Château Lafitte is an old Seigneurial residence of the 14th century, full of charm and intimacy, nestled in the heart of an exceptional, peaceful and hilly plant environment. It is located in Monein, between Pau and Oloron-Sainte-Marie, in the Atlantic Pyrenees, France.

The oldest evidence found in the archives reveals the existence of Château Lafitte in the 14th century, but the castle in its current configuration is the result of works done in the 16th century. The land was then a vast agricultural property, with vines and wine already being an important activity on the estate.

The current owners of Château Lafitte, Philippe and Brigitte Arraou, have been trying for thirty years to restore the family spirit it once had, around a project that has always been a dream for them: to revive the wine production. Since 2012, it is their son Antoine, passionate winemaker committed to the preservation of the environment, who manages the estate. He has evolved the culture from organic farming to biodynamics and has opened the way to natural wines. He produces high-quality wines, while respecting the balance of the land and the vine.

The spirit of Château Lafitte favors pleasure and conviviality, where enjoying life accompanies skills, animated by a warm and perfectionist team. In the vineyards, in the winery and at the table, the goal is none other than to share the result of a generous land and of a passionate work, in harmony with nature.

carte postale2b

Le château

Le Château Lafitte : une longue histoire

Le Château Lafitte est ancienne maison seigneuriale du 14ème siècle, pleine de charme et d’intimité, niché au cœur d’un environnement végétal exceptionnel, paisible et vallonné. Il est situé à Monein, entre Pau et Oloron Sainte-Marie, dans les Pyrénées Atlantiques.

Le plus ancien témoignage trouvé dans les archives révèle de l’existence du Château Lafitte au 14ème siècle. Mais le château dans sa configuration actuelle est l’œuvre de travaux réalisés au 16ème siècle. Les terres formaient alors une vaste propriété agricole, la vigne et le vin occupant déjà une activité importante du domaine.

Les actuels propriétaires du Château Lafitte, Philippe et Brigitte ARRAOU, ont entrepris depuis une trentaine d’années de lui redonner l’âme familiale qu’il avait perdue, autour d’un projet qui était pour eux un rêve depuis toujours : relancer la production viticole. Depuis 2012, c’est leur fils Antoine, vigneron passionné, engagé dans la préservation de l’environnement qui gère le domaine. Il l’a fait évoluer de l’agriculture biologique vers la biodynamie, et a ouvert la voie aux vins naturels. Il produit des vins de grande qualité dans le respect des équilibres de la terre et de la vigne.

L’esprit du Château Lafitte privilégie le plaisir et la convivialité, où le savoir-vivre accompagne le savoir-faire, animé par une équipe chaleureuse et perfectionniste. Dans les vignes, au chai comme à table, le but n’est autre que de partager et faire partager le fruit d’une terre généreuse, le résultat d’un travail passionné en harmonie avec la nature.

Découvrez tous nos vins

Découvrez notre chai éco-responsable

carte postale2b